Top 10 Cheapest Federal Universities In Nigeria

This article contains a comprehensive list of the most affordable and cheapest federal universities in Nigeria and their school fees?

Please note that the school fee range listed here is just an estimation as different universities get to charge different school fees for different courses.

DISCLAIMER: This article only takes cognizance of what the school fees are at the time of writing. And also the school fees ranges taken into account are school fees payable by fresh students and those payable by returning students. 

And newly admitted students generally get to pay higher school fees than returning students.


Top 10 Cheapest Federal Universities In Nigeria

1. Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)

Ahmadu Bello University and as commonly called (ABU) is a Federal Government research university situated in Zaria, Kaduna State. On the 4th October, 1962, ABU was established as the University of Northern Nigeria.

ABU has two campuses it’s operates, which are; Samaru (main) and Kongo in Zaria. ABU runs a pre-degree School located in Funtua few kilometres away from main campus which is still owned by the university.

The campus houses the administrative offices, faculties of; Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts and languages, education, environmental design, engineering, medical sciences, agricultural sciences and research facilities are all located in the main campus which is the Samaru campus.

While the faculties of Law and Administration is located in the Kongo campus, the accounting, Business Administration, Local Government and Development Studies and Public Administration Departments are all part of the faculty of administration.

Additionally, the university stands to shoulder a variety of other institutions and programs at other locations.

School Fees Range: ₦14,000 – ₦45,000.

2. University of Ibadan (UI)

The University of Ibadan, or UI, is one of Nigeria’s oldest and most prestigious universities. It is five miles (8 kilometers) from the center of the major city of Ibadan in Western Nigeria.

Apart from the college of medicine, there are now eleven other faculties: arts, science, agriculture and forestry, social sciences, education, veterinary medicine, technology, law, pharmacy, public health, and dentistry.

On campus, the University owns residential and sports facilities primarily for its staff and students. UI also has two separate gardens for botanical and zoological purposes.

School fees range from ₦16,000 to ₦39,000.

3. Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, located at Ogun State, or FUNAAB. In 1994 when four other universities of technology, earlier merged were demerged, the federal government established FUNAAB on the 1th January 1988.

As a result, this led to the establishment of the first two universities of agriculture in the cities of Abeokuta and Makurdi.

FUNAAB is one of the three universities of agriculture in Nigeria, the other being in Makurdi (Benue State) and Umudike (Abia State). 

The mini-campus in Isale-Igbein in the heart of Abeokuta the capital of Ogun State was where the university started and it moved to its permanent site on a 10,000-hectare campus which is located next to the Ogun-Oshun River Basin Development Authority on the Abeokuta-Ibadan road in the North Eastern end of the city, 15 km from Abeokuta City Centre in December 1997.

School Fees Range: ₦18,000 – ₦42,000.

4. Bayero University, Kano (BUK)

Bayero University Kano (BUK) is a university in Kano, Kano State, Nigeria. Bayero University Kano was founded in 1977, when it was renamed from Bayero University College and elevated from university college to university.

Agriculture, Arts and Islamic Studies, Education, Engineering, Law, Medicine, Science, Earth and Environmental Studies, Pharmacy, Social, and Management Science are some of the faculties at BUK. Its most recent faculty is the Faculty of Computer Science & Information Technology.

School fees range from ₦24,000 to ₦60,000.

5. University of Calabar (UNICAL)

UNICAL as it’s commonly called is located in Calabar, Cross River State, southeastern Nigeria.

It was known to be the campus of the University of Nigeria until 1975 when it was established, the University of Calabar. Designed by John Elliott known to be the architect.

It was established by decree, so as to fulfill this traditional mandate, its motto “Knowledge for Service”.

In the University of Calabar, Malabites are what the male students are called while the female students are Malabresses.

Also as a result of challenges faced by the students at a time which coincided with the suffering experienced in Malabo by Nigerian deportees from Equatorial Guinea (whose capital is Malabo) at the time, the male hostel is called Malabo.

School Fees Range: ₦31,000 – ₦43,000.

6. Gwagwalada Campus, University of Abuja (UNIABUJA)

The University of Abuja (UNIABUJA), located in Nigeria’s capital Abuja, was founded on January 1, 1988, as a dual-mode university with the mandate to run traditional and distance learning programs.

The Law Faculty at the University of Abuja is well-known for having one of the most organized Student Representative Councils (LAWSAN) in the country.

The university has a permanent site spanning 11,824 hectares along the Kaduna-Lokoja road, as well as a mini campus in Gwagwalada, Abuja, Nigeria.

School Fees: ₦39,000 – ₦43,000.

7. Sokoto Usman Danfodio University (UDUSOK)

Formerly known as the University of Sokoto, Usman Dan Fodio University was founded in 1975 is one of Nigeria’s first twelve federal universities. It is located in Sokoto, an ancient city.

The administrative offices, sciences, social sciences, agriculture, arts and languages, education, and research facilities are all located on the main campus.

The city campus houses the college of health sciences as well as the school of veterinary medicine. In addition, there is a modern university teaching hospital on the third site.

Its fourth location was built by the previous administration of Bafarawa of Sokoto State, led by Alh. Attahiru Bafarawa.

School Fees: ₦24,000 –  ₦54,,000.

8. National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)

The National Open University of Nigeria is one of Nigeria largest tertiary institution as it’s regards students number, it popularly called ‘NOUN’.

NOUN is a Federal institute that enables Open and Distance Learning (ODL), the first of its kind in the West African sub-region.

NOUN offers over 50 programmes and 750 courses.

School Fees Range: ₦18,000 – ₦36,000.

9. Katsina State Federal University, Dutsin-Ma (FUDMA)

Federal University Dutsin-Ma, established in February 2011 by President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan’s administration, is located in Katsina state. It consists of eight faculties.

School Fees Range: ₦50,000 – ₦64,000.

10. University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT)

The University of Port Harcourt is a federal university in the Nigerian city of Port Harcourt. In 1975 it was established as University College, Port Harcourt, and was given the right of being at university status in 1977.

School Fees Range: ₦92,000 – ₦128,000.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top